Type B Corporation

Type B - Sanger Texas Development Corporation

The Sanger Texas Development Corporation (STDC), a non-profit coporation specifically governed by Section 4B of the Texas Development Corporation Act of 1979.  It was incorporated in October 1998 as a Type B Corporation and is funded by a portion (1/2 cent) of the local sales tax revenue.  The Sanger Texas Development Board is authorized to expend funds for both economic development  projects and community quality of life projects. 

Type B coporations may pay for land, buildings, equipment, facilities, targeted infrastructure and improvements for:

·professional and amateur sports and athletic facilities, tourism and entertainment facilities, convention facilities and public parks;

·related store, restaurant, concession, parking and transportation facilities;

·related street, water and sewer facilities; and

·affordable housing.

To promote and develop new and expanded business enterprises that create or retain primary jobs, a Type B EDC may fund:

·public safety facilities;

·recycling facilities;

·streets, roads, drainage and related improvements;

·demolition of existing structures;

·general municipally owned improvements; and

·maintenance and operating costs associated with projects.

In the past few years, the Sanger Texas Development Corporation has funded the following projects: 

  • Quail Run Park improvements
  • Downtown Park improvements
  • Downtown streetscape improvements
  • Improvements to the railroad ball fields
  • Construction of Porter Sports Park
  • Switzer Splash Park

Projects require 60-days for public comment before the project can be approved by a majority vote of the Type B Board and the City Council. 


  • 6 p.m.
  • Held monthly or on an as-needed basis
  • Sanger City Hall
    502 Elm Street
    Sanger, TX 76266


Board of Directors

The seven member Board of Directors is comprised of individuals apponited by the Sanger City Council to serve two-year terms.  The members of the Board are:

  • William Lascor, Place 1
  • John Payne, Place 2, President
  • Stephanie Wood, Place 3
  • Beverly Howard, Place 4
  • Jeff Springer, Place 5, Vice President
  • Eddie Piercy, Place 6
  • Carrie Bilyeu, Place 7


Agendas Minutes
Click here to visit our new Agenda and Minutes page for all Board Meetings  
4B Meeting Agenda - 3-26-2019  
4B Meeting Agenda - 10-24-2016  
4B Meeting Agenda - 09-29-2016 Meeting Cancelled - 09-29-2016
4B Meeting Agenda - 07-25-2016 07-25-2016 Minutes
04-18-2016 Notice of Public Hearing  
4B Meeting Agenda - 03-30-2016 03-30-2016 Minutes
No Meeting - 02-22-2016 No Meeting - 02-22-2016
No Meeting - 01-25-2016 No Meeting - 01-25-2016
4B Meeting Agenda - 10-26-2015 10-26-2015 Minutes
4B Meeting Agenda - 07-27-2015 07-27-2015 Minutes 
4B Meeting Agenda – 06-29-2015 Meeting Canceled - no quorum
4B Meeting Agenda – 05-26-2015 05-26-2015 Minutes 
Notice of Public Hearing – 05-26-2015  
4B Meeting Agenda – 04-27-2015 04-27-2015 Minutes 
4B Meeting Agenda – 03-23-2015 03-23-2015 Minutes 
4B Meeting Agenda 02-23-2015 Meeting Canceled 
4B Meeting Agenda 01-26-2015 01-26-2015 Minutes
City Council-4A-4B Joint Meeting 11-3-2014 11-03-2014 Joint CC with Type A & B